Schedule

SHOW OF SUMMER

The Garden Club of America

Individual schedules:

20/20 Vision 2020

A GCA Major Flower Show

June 26 – 28, 2020
Chicago Botanic Garden
1000 Lake Cook Road
Glencoe, Illinois 60022

Open to the public
Saturday, June 27 and Sunday, June 28, 2020
10 am to 5 pm

Free admission to show within Chicago Botanic Garden


presented by

Garden Club of America Clubs in the Chicago Area
Garden Club of Barrington
Garden Club of Evanston
Garden Guild of Winnetka
Kenilworth Garden Club
Lake Forest Garden Club
The Winnetka Garden Club

Timeline

Thursday, December 26

Horticulture
Six month ownership deadline

Monday, January 6

Registration opens for all classes below

Monday, February 24

Photography
Registration and Digital Submission Deadline

Saturday, March 26

Horticulture
Three month ownership deadline

Wednesday, April 1

Photography
Finalists and non-finalists notified (no later than)

Sunday, May 5

Floral Design
Registration deadline

Botanical Arts
Registration deadline

Horticulture
Registration deadline for Classes 1, 2, 3

Tuesday, May 12

Photography
deadline for finalist exhibits to be received

Saturday, May 26

Horticulture
One month ownership deadline

Monday, June 8

Floral Design
Preliminary Plant Material list and statement of intent due

Botanical Arts
Deadline for exhibits to be received with key card

Thursday, June 18

Horticulture
Registration is highly encouraged and accepted online until 8am for container Classes 47 – 75

Tuesday, June 23

Conservation
9am — 4pm Exhibit Staging

Photography
9am — 4pm Exhibit Staging

Wednesday, June 24

Horticulture
8am online registration for cuts, Classes 4 – 46, closes

Horticulture
8am — 3pm Staging

Botanical Arts
9am — 12pm hand delivered entries accepted and passed

Thursday, June 25

Botanical Arts
9am – 4pm Exhibit set-up

Floral Design
12pm – 4pm Exhibitors permitted to preview site, create, and complete entries

Horticulture
9am – 11:30am Classes 4 – 46 cut specimens passing
10am – 12pm Class 1 passing
12pm – 2pm Classes 2,3 passing
2pm – 4pm Entries from out of town clerks and judges will be passed, provided they have pre-registered the entry online at the SOS website, by June 18 for container classes and by June 24 for cut specimen classes. No exceptions.

Friday, June 26

Floral Design
7am Exhibitors permitted to enter exhibition areas
8am — 9:30am Passing
9:30 — 10am CBG staff clean-up

Judges / Clerks
9:15 — 9:45 Clerks / Judges briefing
10am — 12pm Judging
12pm — 1:30pm Clerks / Judges lunch and Show Evaluation

Show of Summer Preview Party
6:30 — 8:30

Saturday, June 27

9:30am – 9:45am Exhibitors to refresh exhibits
10am – 5pm  Show of Summer open to the public

Sunday, June 28

9:30am — 9:45am Exhibitors to refresh exhibits
10am — 5pm  Show of Summer open to the public
5pm Show of Summer closes
5:15pm — 7pm Removal of all exhibits

Monday, June 29       

8 am — 10 am All exhibits must be removed